About

Research on human-centered computing has rapidly expanded from user interface design and evaluation to the creation of entire user experiences and even novel life-styles and human values. Therefore, the designing, building, and evaluating of computational technologies should be related to people’s capabilities, limitations, and environments, and should reflect how these technologies affect society. By leveraging our broad expertise in people and technology, the HCC Center enables the ICC to lead this timely effort. Specifically, we integrate art, people, design, technology, and experiences, and conduct novel experiments and research on multiple areas in human-centered computing. The HCC Center prepares Michigan Tech students to become future creators with balanced viewpoints, by educating their computing side, their human side, and their interactions.

Research Areas

  • Multimodal Interactions
  • Human-Agent Interactions
  • Assistive Technologies and Intelligent Health
  • Software Education
  • Novel Interfaces
  • Computational Modeling

Center Resources

  • Immersive Visualization Studio
  • Virtual Reality Lab
  • Mind Music Machine Lab
  • Husky Game Development Lab
  • Computer Science Learning Center

Center Director

Members

Philart Jeon
mjeon@mtu.edu

Scott Kuhl
kuhl@mtu.edu

Shane Mueller
shanem@mtu.edu

Leo Ureel
ureel@mtu.edu

Keith Vertanen
vertanen@mtu.edu

Hyungchul Yoon
hyung@mtu.edu

Tejin Yoon
tyoon@mtu.edu

Jenny Zheng
zhizheng@mtu.edu

Projects

Press