About

The Center for Data Sciences (DataS) focuses on the research of data sciences education, algorithms, mathematics, and applications. DataS fosters interdisciplinary collaborations by bringing together diverse faculty and students from varied disciplines to discover new knowledge and exciting research opportunities in the field of data sciences.

Research Areas

  • Data Sciences
  • Big data and data-intensive computing
  • Artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • Pattern recognition
  • Signal and image processing
  • Sensor and data fusion

Center Resources

  • Pattern Recognition and Intelligent Machines Engineering (PRIME) Lab: office space and computing for graduate students and a large test facility for mobile robotics and UAV sensor development
  • Four dedicated compute nodes on MTU Superior, a shared high performance computing cluster

Center Director

Members

Timothy Havens
thavens@mtu.edu

Jeremy P. Bos
jpbos@mtu.edu

Laura Brown
lebrown@mtu.edu

Mari Buche
mwbuche@mtu.edu

Russ Louks
rwlouks@mtu.edu

Nilufer Onder
nilufer@mtu.edu

Benjamin W. Ong
ongbw@mtu.edu

Thomas Oommen
toommen@mtu.edu

Michael Roggemann
mroggema@mtu.edu

Mark D. Rouleau
mdroulea@mtu.edu

Timothy J. Schulz
schulz@mtu.edu

Ebrahim K. Tarshizi
tarshizi@mtu.edu

Christian Wagner
chwagner@mtu.edu

Hairong Wei
hairong@mtu.edu

Projects