About

The Center for Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) addresses the close interactions and feedback loop between the embedded cyber components for computing and control and the dynamic physical components that involve mechanical components, human activities and surrounding environments. Example CPS systems include automotive and transportation systems, smart homes, buildings and communities, smart battery and energy systems, surveillance systems, cyber-physical biochips, and wearable devices. The recent advances of manufacturing technologies, system integrations and software platforms bring enormous challenges and opportunities for CPS design and implementation.

The purpose of the CPS research center is to bring together researchers spanning different departments at Michigan Tech to stimulate the discussion and collaboration in publications and proposals related to the CPS research.

Research Areas

  • Cyber-Physical Systems
  • Internet-of-Things
  • Smart Home, Building, Community and Grid
  • Smart Transportation
  • Smart Health
  • Underwater Communications and Networks

Center Resources

  • Cyber-Physical Systems Research Group
  • VLSI CAD Research Lab
  • Multiphysics Multiscale SEEM
  • Human-Centered Monitoring Laboratory
  • Nonlinear and Autonomous Systems Lab
  • Intelligent Mechatronics and Embedded Systems Lab
  • Medical Imaging Informatics Lab
  • The Underwater Acoustic Networked Systems Laboratory

Center Director

Members

Shiyan Hu
shiyan@mtu.edu

Zhen Liu
zhenl@mtu.edu

Nina Mahmoudian
ninam@mtu.edu

Sumit Paudyal
sumitp@mtu.edu

Elena Semouchkina
esemouch@mtu.edu

Ye Sun
yes@mtu.edu

Jinshan Tang
jinshant@mtu.edu

Chee-Wooi Ten
ten@mtu.edu

Zhaohui Wang
zhaohuiw@mtu.edu

Seyed A. (Reza) Zekavat

rezaz@mtu.edu

Kuilin Zhang
klzhang@mtu.edu

Projects